William Paterson to Hold 13th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium in Biology, Chemistry and Environmental Science on Saturday, April 6

More than 150 undergraduate science students and faculty from colleges throughout New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania will present their research during the 13th Annual Undergraduate Research Symposium at William Paterson University in Wayne on Saturday, April 6 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission is free.

“This event gives our students, as well as students from other institutions, essential experience for a career in the sciences or science-related fields,” says Venkat Sharma, dean of the College of Science and Health. “The symposium focuses on sharing and advancing new knowledge in the sciences that was discovered through collaborative faculty-student research.”

George Koob, director of the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism for the National Institute of Health, will give the plenary address at 1 p.m. Koob is a world-class scientist and an internationally recognized expert on alcohol and stress and the neurobiology of alcohol and drug addiction. As an authority on alcoholism, drug addiction and stress, he has contributed to the understanding of the neurocircuitry associated with the acute reinforcing effects of alcohol and drugs of abuse and the neuroadaptations of the reward and stress circuits associated with the transition to dependence.

This 13th year symposium, sponsored by the University’s College of Science and Health, includes morning and afternoon poster sessions from 9:15 to 11:15 a.m. and 2 to 4 p.m., which will be judged and awarded first and second place awards in all categories.

Posters will display student research in the following areas of research:

  • Physiology, behavior, cell and molecular biology, genetics, ecology and evolution, and environmental science.
  • Organic and inorganic chemistry, biochemistry, nano chemistry, general and physical chemistry and materials chemistry.

 Presenters will be judged and awards will be presented to the best undergraduate poster presenters in a ceremony at 4:30 p.m. in the University Commons Ballroom.