William Paterson University - FACULTY SENATE MINUTES -May 2, 2013
FACULTY SENATE WEB PAGE http://www.wpunj.edu/senate

2

1

- 4 **PRESENT:** Aktan, Alon, Andreopoulos, Bernstein, Bhat, Bliss, Broome, Chabayta, Diamond, Dinan, Duffy,
- 5 Ellis, Falk-Romaine, Finnegan, Furst (for Korgen), Garfinkel, Godar, Kearney, Kelly, Ku, Lee, Levitan,
- 6 Maganuco, Makarec, Matthew (for Wagner), Martus, McNeal, Natrajan, Novak, Nyaboga, Nyamwange, Parras,
- 7 Pavese, Perez, Rosar, Sabogal, Schwartz, Sheffield, Slaymaker, Smith, Snyder, Steinhart, Swanson, Tardi,
- 8 Verdicchio, Waldron, Wallace, Weil, Wicke
- 9 **ABSENT:** Barrow, D'Haem, Kothandaraman,
- 10 GUESTS: Bolyai, Burns, Cauthen, Cohen, Daniel-Robinson, DeDeo, Ferguson, Fuller-Stanley, Goldstein,
- 11 Gritsch, Hahn, Hong, Jemmott, Liautaud, Martone, Mathew, Moore, Olaye, Rabbitt, Refsland, Sandford, Wolf
- 12 **PRELIMINARIES:** Chairperson Parras called the Senate to order at 12:33 PM. Pavese and Wicke
- moved acceptance of the Agenda. Martus' motion to move the election up after the Vice-Chair's
- report failed for lack of a second. The Agenda was then approved unanimously.
- 15 The draft minutes of the April 23, 2013 meeting, moved and seconded by Godar and Sheffield, were
- 16 approved unanimously.
- 17 Parras introduced the new faculty senators: Aktan, Alon, Broome, Kothandaraman, Ku, Makarec,
- 18 Smith, Wallace, and the new SGA representative, Novak.
- 19 **CHAIR'S REPORT:** Parras praised outgoing Provost Weil for his important role at WPU. He also
- 20 recognized Senate Office Secretary May Chabayta.
- 21 He noted that the University will receive approximately \$30,000,000 as its share of the recently
- approved bond referendum, and noted that the new health sciences academic building will add 16 new
- classrooms to the inventory.
- Parras briefly discussed the Senate budget, currently approximately \$3,900, and requested that it be
- increased to \$6,900. He added that the Senate needs \$3,500 more each year to conduct elections and
- administrative evaluations. Requests have been made to the Administration and Board. The Union is
- willing to help out if necessary, but normal channels will be pursued first.
- 28 The incoming Provost, Warren Sandmann, will select the new UCC Director.
- 29 Former Governor Thomas Kean will be the Commencement speaker.
- 30 CIO Rosenberg briefly reported on some new improvements to reporting and solving problems.
- 31 The three Faculty Recognition Award honorees this year are: Maria Villar (teaching), Vincent Parrillo
- 32 (scholarship/creative Expression) and Steven Shalom (service).
- 33 **VICE-CHAIR'S REPORT**: Falk-Romaine (with Perez seconding) presented the council
- memberships for next year, which were approved unanimously.
- 35 **ELECTION OF 2013-2014 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE:** L. Mathew, Chair of the Elections
- 36 Council presented Parliamentarian Kearney's memo concerning election procedures. After brief
- discussion, she moved on to describe the election procedures the Council would follow. Since the By-
- Laws have not been amended to supersede *Roberts* in cases where there is only one nominee, complete
- 39 roll call votes were taken for each position.

- 40 Election of Chair: Ellis nominated Levitan; Kelly seconded. There were no other nominations.
- Levitan made a brief speech. 40 valid votes were cast (there were two abstentions); Levitan received
- all 40 votes and was declared the winner.
- Election of Vice-Chair: Godar nominated Lee, who declined the honor. Kelly nominated Ellis, who
- also declined. Makarec and Bliss nominated Martus. Swanson and Kelly nominated Dinan. Martus
- 45 withdrew. Dinan made a brief speech. 39 valid votes were cast (there was one abstention and two
- 46 illegible votes). Dinan received 37 votes. Martus and Duffy each received one write-in vote. Dinan
- 47 was declared the winner.
- 48 Election of Secretary: Duffy and Verdicchio nominated Martus, who gave a brief speech. 39 valid
- 49 votes were cast (there was one abstention and three illegible votes). Martus received 37 votes and
- 50 Duffy received one write-in vote. Martus was declared the winner.
- 51 Election of three at-large members of the Executive Committee: Verdicchio and Sheffield nominated
- 52 Lee. Steinhart and Furst nominated Broome. Ellis and Wicke nominated Duffy. Matthew and Falk-
- Romaine nominated Wagner. Andreopolous and Sheffield nominated Slaymaker. Finnegan and Wicke
- nominated Andreopolous, who declined. As time was short, there were no speeches. Slaymaker
- received 30 votes. Lee received 22 votes. Duffy received 20 votes. Broome and Wagner each received
- 18 votes. There were neither abstentions nor illegible votes. Slaymaker, Lee and Duffy were declared
- 57 the winners.
- **ADJOURNMENT:** The Faculty Senate adjourned at 1:58 PM.
- The next meeting of the Faculty Senate will be held on Tuesday, September 10<sup>th</sup> at 12:30 PM in
- 60 Ballroom C.
- Respectfully submitted: Bill Duffy, Secretary
- 62 THIS AND OTHER SENATE DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE AT: www.wpunj.edu/senate